Speed Enforcement Cameras

May 27, 2018

Passing driver’s school, every new driver knows that the speed limit signs are not “guidelines” or the minimum speed you should be driving on the road. That is the legal limit as to how fast you can go beyond that posted sign. Any faster than that, and you are liable to get pulled over and either a warning or a ticket for the excess speeds. Speeding is a leading cause of crashes, injuries, and death on the road.


Officers in cars are not the only ones to give you a ticket, of course. There are speed enforcement cameras used as a part of the Automated Speed Enforcement systems to urge drivers to drive responsibly, stay alert, and obey posted speed limit signs.


The Law


In 2009, Maryland made speed cameras legal, and they are used in construction and school zones. If you go twelve (12) miles an hour over the posted speed limit, you trigger the camera. Only after an officer reviews the infraction and approves the violation can a citation be generated and sent out. The citation, with a $40.00 fee and no points added to a driver’s license, is issued to the registered owner of the vehicle.


The vehicle owner has two options when receiving a citation. They can pay the fine, or contest the citation in court. If they refuse or forget to pay the fine or appear in court, the MVA will be notified and the vehicle’s registration will be flagged, preventing registration renewal.


Areas with Cameras


Often, you will see a courteous sign prior to the photo-enforced safe zone, to prevent violations and to deter speeding. Maryland law limits use of speed cameras along state highway work/construction zones and in school zones. Montgomery County permits sped cameras in residential areas.


In Charles County, locations of the cameras are posted weekly on the Charles County Sheriff’s Office Facebook page. Currently, they have four mobile speed cameras that they alternate between the schools. These cameras operate Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:00am to 8:00pm.


For the week of May 27, 2018, starting on Monday, May 28th, the automated speed enforcement cameras will be at the following school zones:

  • Northbound Middleton Road at Westlake High School

  • Southbound Leonardtown Rd at Thomas Stone High School

  • Southbound Piney Church at St. Charles High School

  • Southbound Oliver’s Shop Road at T.C. Martin Elementary School

Calvert County has their school zone speed cameras active all year round, and moved randomly between school zones. The cameras are active Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:00am to 8:00pm. Their Sheriff’s Department has provided a list of the school zones that they operate the speed cameras in, at random. The list can be seen here.


Prince George’s County has posted a list of every area that they intend to or have used speed cameras, and can be seen here.


Ideally, the Automated Speed Enforcement systems help in promoting safe driving. Oftentimes, individual county Sheriff’s Departments will post notifications of the locations of speed cameras for a specific area on their websites and in a newspaper for the public. Please drive responsibly.


Fanning Law, LLC Can Help

We assist individuals and families with family law issues and other legal concerns in Southern Maryland, Washington DC, and throughout the region.  For more information about how Fanning Law, LLC can help you and your family, contact Bill Fanning at Fanning Law, LLC - The Offices of William C. Fanning, Jr. - 301.934.3620 or at www.fanninglawllc.com.








Please reload

Recent Posts

Free Offer of Wooden Shel...

July 30, 2019

Please reload

Please reload

OFFICE: 301.934.3620    

FAX: 240.523.6501

EMAIL: info@fanninglawllc.com

© 2019 by Fanning Law, LLC

Fanning Law LLC Family Lawyer La Plata Maryland
Charles County Lawyer Prince George County Lawyer
St. Marys County Lawyer Calvert County Lawyer
Southern Maryland Lawyer La Plata Lawyer

Fanning Law, LLC represents clients throughout Southern Maryland in the cities of Waldorf, La Plata, Hughesville, Mechanicsville, Clinton, Upper Marlboro, White Plains, Leonardtown, Prince Frederick, Fort Washington, Lexington Park, and St. Charles, including Charles County, Calvert County,

St. Mary's County, Anne Arundel County, Prince George's County as well as the District of Columbia.